Reference number
  • AOT
  • 1912-1939
  • Collection
  • This collection contains: rules, 1923-1932; finance committee minutes, 1923-1924; journal committee minutes, 1923-1926; annual delegate conference records, 1927-1935; annual report, 1931; correspondence and subject files, 1929-1932; 'Tax clerks journal' and 'Taxes', 1912-1931; various publications, 1922-1928; research records, 1845-1939
  • 6 boxes
Admin history
  • The Association of Tax Clerks was formed in 1892 and changed its name to the Association of Officers of Taxes (AOT) in 1922. In 1936 it entered a loose federation with the National Association of Assessors and Collectors of Taxes under the name of the Inland Revenue Staff Federation (IRSF). The Valuation Office Clerical Association joined the IRSF in 1937 and in 1938 the three constituent unions decided to amalgamate, retaining the the IRSF title.
Access status
  • Open
Related Material
  • The Centre also holds records of the Inland Revenue Staff Federation (IRSF), including some inherited from the AOT, 1924-1978, and the Civil Service Confederation (CSC), 1921-1939